Paper Poppies

I love flowers!  So when I saw a punched paper flower on a gallery, I just knew I had to try making one myself.  I wish I could convince myself that this looks like a peony, but I just can’t quite get there.  But it passes easily for a poppy, or maybe even a chrysanthemum or a carnation.

The poppy itself is easy to make, and looks fantastic when assembled.  To make it, I used my scallop circle punch to make five scalloped circles, each in the same colour of cardstock.  I then crumpled each scalloped circle into a teeny-tiny little ball (see the picture) to create some texture for my “petals”. 

After uncrumpling the balls, I stacked the five scalloped circles on top of one another.  The bottom layer is the flattest , or most uncrumpled, while I left the top layer with quite a bit of texture.   All that I used to hold the layers together was a single brad in a pretty, contrasting colour.  It would be too hard to push a brad through all those layers, so I used a paper piercing tool to make a hole in the middle of each scalloped circles before pushing the brad though.  (I left the scalloped circles in a stack as I made the hole, to make sure I knew how they would line up.) 

Easy!

Images copyright Stampin' Up!

The rest of the card was straightforward.  I stamped a flower stem directly on the card base with a Versamark pad, and heat embossed it with green embossing powder.  The greeting was done the same way, only with orange embossing powder to match the flower.  I attached the flower at the top of the stem with three glue dots, which are enough to make sure it holds in place.

Oh, and if you are wondering about the colours – they match this week’s Play Date Cafe Challenge!  Check it out and play along with me.

This entry was posted in Cards, Making Embelishments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paper Poppies

  1. Jinny Newlin says:

    Super, cute, paper blossom! And I adore your embossed stem! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  2. Pingback: Butterfly Love « Peony Paper Crafts

Leave a comment