Scraplifted!

Every stamper has a favorite stamp set or two that they just don’t know how to use.  You know the one – when you first saw it, it was soooo pretty, you just had to have it.  You were so excited when you brought it home, couldn’t wait to make beautiful cards with it.  And then, when you sat down to use it, nothing.  You couldn’t figure out what you were going to do with it.  It’s been sitting in your stash now for a year, and you’ve only used it once or twice, yet everytime you open up the drawer, you think – Oooh, I love that stamp, I really have to do something with it.

I have a few of those sets, including the one featured here.  I love it, but really, what am I going to do with a fairy outline stamp?  So, when I was surfing papercrafting websites one day, I was super excited to come accross this card by Heather Summers.  As soon as I saw it, I knew I could adapt it for my favorite neglected stamp set. 

images copyright Stampin' Up!

To make this card, I stamped an outline image on white cardstock, then colored in the picture using blender pens and ink in colours that match the designer paper that I used.  The picture and the paper have both been double matted, adding a little bit of extra dimension to the card, and the little tag has actually been inserted between two layers of matting around the stamped image.  Finally, I used my paper piercing tool to make a line of holes all the way around the designer paper, although I realized after the fact that it probably would have been easier to use a sewing machine.  I poked the holes after the DP was mounted on the matting cardstock, but before attaching it to the card base.

Do you have a favorite stampset gathering dust in your drawer? Today’s challenge is to scraplift a card design from somewhere, and use that set.  In the comments section, provide a link to both your card and the original design you copied.

This entry was posted in Cards, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

