One Card, Two Takes

If you are anything like me, you love to use swirly, girly, flowery stamps on your cards.  Unfortunately, I have more guys in my life than gals, so I have to reign in my feminine side and make some guy cards.  One technique I like to use to inspire my guy cards is to use a girly card I’ve made as a template for a guy card.

The Girl Card

Not too long ago I made this very girly Happy Birthday card.

Images copyright Stampin' Up!

I love it!  I used a dark cardstock on a white card base for high contrast.  I stamped a flowery border stamp on each edge of the blue background, and filled the center by stamping a matching flower stamp in a repeating pattern.  The stamped images were then heat embossed with white embossing powder to complement the white cardbase. 

For the greeting, I loved the idea of using the same blue cardstock, but making stand out against the background by popping it out with a foam adhesive square.  I used a label stamp that matched the punch I used to cut out the greeting.  Again, the label and greeting stamps were embossed with white embossing powder.

So Pretty!

Images copyright Stampin' Up!

The Guy Card

I loved the idea of using tone on tone cardstock and embossing powder to make a card so much that I had to make a guy version in black and beige.

Images copyright Stampin' Up!

With this card, I had a large background stamp, so I repeated it a few times to create my background, before embossing it.

I had a punch the same size as the map stamp, so after embossing it I was able to punch it out.  Finally, I stamped a small label and a happy birthday greeting; again, I had a punch that matched the label stamp which I used to cut it out. As a finishing touch, I added a brad to each end of the label.

Images copyright Stampin' Up!

This card has three layers, instead of the two that I used on the girly card.  With this card, each of the punched images is raised above the layer below it with foam adhesive squares, to give some dimension to the card, and to give a visual separation between layers that are created in identical colors.

Do you make more feminine cards or masculine cards?  Paste a link to your favorite of each in the comments section.

This entry was posted in Cards, Making Embelishments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment