Rosettes and Roses

I usually tend towards clean, modern lines for the cards and scrapbooking pages, but I also like to challenge myself to try new styles and techniques, which is what I did for this mother’s day card. 

Tell me what you think:

I used the colors from the Playdate Cafe this week.  There are no fancy techniques in this card, but I did make the rosette and the flowers by hand.  Here’s how:

Making Rosettes

  1. I cut three strips of patterned paper at 1 1/2 inches by 6 inches, and scored them at 1/2 inch intervals to make an accordion fold.
  2. I overlapped the edges of each strip, and adhered.  For best results, I made sure that the edge of each strip tucked into the “valley” of the next (see picture below).
  3. By adhering the ends of all three strips, and of the third strip to the first, the accordion folds end up in a circle.
  4. I flattened the accordion circle, bringing one edge into a tight circle, and letting the other flare out. Using glue dots, I adhered this rosette to the back of a label die cut.
  5. To make the lacy rosette, I cut two strips of 1 1/2 inch by 11 inch vellum paper.  I used a fancy scallop punch along one edge of each piece of velum.
  6. To create the accordion fold from the scalloped paper, I scored the velum once between each scallop, and once in the middle of each scallop.
  7. I assembled the lacy rosette in the same manner as the first, and adhered it to the back of the first rosette.

  

 

Making Flower Buds

  1. For each flower bud, I rough cut a circle out of cardstock. 
  2. Then, starting at the edge, I rough cut a spiral into the centre of the circle.
  3. Starting with the end at the centre of the spiral, I folded the strip of paper and rolled it up. (see picture below).
  4. To complete the flower bud, I adhered the end fo the spiral strip to the bud with a glue dot, and placed another glue dot (or two) on the bottom, to keep the centre glued down.

  

 

This entry was posted in Cards, Making Embelishments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rosettes and Roses

  1. Keke says:

    Beautiful Card!

  2. Pauline says:

    This is beautiful! Love the rolled roses and fab rosettes, and a great tutorial too!

  3. Borqna says:

    This is an amazing card! Bravo! I wish you success!

  4. Great craftsmanship and artistry. Blessings!

  5. OHHHHHHHHH! Those flowers are soooooooo pretty! THANKS so much for joining in the fun and playing along with us over at the PDCC:)

Leave a Reply

